Where’s My Juice From?

I came back from Japan knowing that this is the overall distribution of energy sources in the country.  And yet I did not know what I was paying for in my own monthly electrical bill. From whence does that juice in the light switch emanate? What other thing had to burn in order for my television to turn on?

The US EPA has this very useful application that tells you what the breakdown is of your energy usage. It’s a good thing to be aware of.

Here’s my personal consumption via N-Star Electric: about 41%  natural gas, 28% nuclear, 15% coal, and 6% non-hydro renewables.

Leave a Reply

